SmartPathGuides

Home › Trades › Electricians › Missouri

How to become an electrician in Missouri

Missouri's statewide electrical contractor license is optional, and cities and counties set their own electrical contractor licensing: some require a local license and some do not. Kansas City, for example, requires the work of a licensed electrical contractor to be done by or under a master electrician certificate holder. Electricians in Missouri earned a median $65,410 a year in May 2025 ($31.45 an hour).

State license for workers
Not stated
the pages read do not say
On-the-job hours
None recorded
no hours figure is recorded for a license here; the table gives what each asks
Published fees, first steps
Not stated
no step is listed before any experience, and the pages read do not say whether a worker needs a license
Median pay
$65,410
$31.45 an hour, May 2025

Electrician licensing in Missouri

The licensing authority is Missouri Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (an optional license) and local authorities, Kansas City shown as the example. The pages each row was read from are listed under the table, with the date each was read.

LicenseWhat it takesExperienceExamFee
Kansas City Master Electrician certificate (city example) At least three years of full-time electrical work at journeyman, foreman, supervisor or contractor level, one of them commercial or industrial (two years with an electrical engineering degree), shown by two notarized reference letters; at least 21, with a high-school diploma or GED (or an extra year of experience for each year lacking); pass the city's recognized Prometric (20114) and ICC (W16) master electrician exams, or have a comparable passing score accepted. Application fee $60. — Prometric 20114 and ICC W16 master electrician exams $60
Kansas City Electrical Contractor license (business, city example) The license an individual or business needs to perform the regulated work, applied for separately from the supervisor's certificate; the work is done by or under a master electrician certificate holder. — — not published
Missouri statewide electrical contractor license (optional) Optional: meant to let a contractor hold one license recognized statewide instead of a license for each city or county. — — not published

Licensing sources: Missouri Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors: FAQs for electrical contractors (retrieved 2026-09-23) · City of Kansas City, MO: contractor licensing (retrieved 2026-09-23) · Kansas City, MO: master electrician certificate of qualification requirements (retrieved 2026-09-23). Requirements change; confirm with Missouri Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (an optional license) and local authorities, Kansas City shown as the example before you act.

The steps in order, with exams, fees and renewal → · Every fee here, itemised and totalled → · Compare time and cost across trades and states →

Common questions

Do you need a license to work as an electrician in Missouri?

Missouri's statewide electrical contractor license is optional, and cities and counties set their own electrical contractor licensing: some require a local license and some do not. Kansas City, for example, requires the work of a licensed electrical contractor to be done by or under a master electrician certificate holder.

What does it cost to get licensed as an electrician in Missouri?

The published fee in the table above is $60. It is charged by Kansas City, not by the state. Read each tier's requirements for any exam or license-issue fee charged on top.

How long does it take to become an electrician in Missouri?

It depends on which credential you need and the training and testing each step takes; the full path is in the table above.

How much do electricians make in Missouri?

Electricians in Missouri earned a median $65,410 a year in May 2025, $31.45 an hour. That median is 4% above the national figure of $63,190, and Missouri ranks 25 of 51 by pay for this trade.

How much do apprentice electricians make in Missouri?

In fiscal 2023 (October 2022 to September 2023), among registered apprentices in Missouri under the occupation titles the U.S. Department of Labor maps to electricians, 856 apprentices started, at a median $17.42 an hour across the 855 whose starting wage DOL counts. Those who completed that year were paid a median $35.00 an hour at completion (282 completers with an exit wage DOL counts). Wages are in that year's dollars.

What electricians earn in Missouri

Electricians in Missouri earned a median $65,410 a year in May 2025, $31.45 an hour. 12,780 people held the job, 4.4 for every 1,000 jobs in the state. That median is 4% above the national figure of $63,190, and Missouri ranks 25 of 51 by pay for this trade.

Median annual
$65,410
$31.45 an hour
Rank by pay
#25
of 51 with a published median
Employed in MO
12,780
4.4 per 1,000 jobs
Location quotient
0.89
1.00 = national concentration

The full wage spread in Missouri

PointHourlyAnnualMeaning
10th percentile$21.09$43,860A tenth of the workforce earns less than this.
25th percentile$23.95$49,810A quarter earn less.
Median$31.45$65,410Half earn less, half earn more.
75th percentile$45.08$93,760A quarter earn more.
90th percentile$50.03$104,060A tenth earn more than this.
Mean$34.77$72,310The average. Pulled up by the top earners.

Annual figures are the hourly rate times 2,080 hours, BLS's full-time year. Overtime is inside the survey's earnings but not separated out.

Pay by metro area in Missouri

St. Louis, MO-IL employs the most electricians of the 8 metro areas based in Missouri that BLS publishes, 5,920, at a median $77,170 a year. The best-paid is St. Joseph, MO-KS at $97,350.

MetroEmployedMedian annual10th pct90th pct
St. Louis, MO-IL 5,920 $77,170 $46,890 $104,800
Kansas City, MO-KS 5,400 $76,860 $46,280 $110,170
Springfield, MO 1,040 $56,590 $37,440 $96,450
Jefferson City, MO 480 $67,630 $38,990 $97,380
Joplin, MO-KS 430 $67,720 $36,810 $96,890
St. Joseph, MO-KS 350 $97,350 $47,560 $116,850
Columbia, MO 290 $61,500 $39,520 $88,940
Cape Girardeau, MO-IL 150 $59,720 $44,550 $99,400

Metropolitan statistical areas as BLS publishes them in the same May 2025 estimates. A metro that crosses a state line is listed only under its primary state, so part of a neighboring state's metro can sit outside this table. Areas outside any metro are not shown.

Missouri against its neighbors on the pay ladder

#StateMedian annualEmployed
22 Pennsylvania $67,600 22,730
23 Kansas $65,860 6,350
24 North Dakota $65,710 3,570
25 Missouri $65,410 12,780
26 West Virginia $64,810 4,290
27 Ohio $64,700 28,950
28 Delaware $63,700 2,260

The complete ranking is on the Electricians page.

Against the national figure

FigureMissouriUnited States
Median annual$65,410$63,190
Median hourly$31.45$30.38
10th percentile, annual$43,860$42,640
90th percentile, annual$104,060$108,510
Employed12,780757,220

Apprenticeships in Missouri

U.S. Department of Labor records list 2,636 registered apprentices active in Missouri in fiscal year 2024 (October 2023 to September 2024) under the occupation titles DOL maps to electricians (SOC 47-2111). The file's fiscal 2024 records largely stop after February 2024. In fiscal 2023, the latest year the file holds in full, 856 apprentices started, at a median $17.42 an hour across the 855 whose starting wage DOL counts. Those who completed that year were paid a median $35.00 an hour at completion (282 completers with an exit wage DOL counts).

Find a registered program: DOL's Apprenticeship Finder → · What those wages come to at your hours a week → · Every state's count and wages for this trade →

Wages are DOL's own hourly figures in the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. Which wages DOL counts, which titles count and how the state is assigned are on the data page.

Other trades in Missouri

Plumbers and pipefitters ($66,790) · HVAC technicians ($59,950) · Welders ($51,950) · Truck drivers (CDL) ($54,550) · Lineworkers (power-line installers) ($96,360) · Elevator installers ($126,750) · Ironworkers ($77,410) · Sheet metal workers ($63,560) · Carpenters ($60,840) · Brickmasons and blockmasons ($72,370) · Auto service technicians ($49,160) · Diesel mechanics ($59,360) · Heavy equipment operators ($60,540) · Machinists ($58,710)

See all 15 ranked by pay in Missouri.

The pay and employment figures on this page are the May 2025 BLS estimates, apart from the apprenticeship figures, which are DOL's; the licensing detail is read from the pages listed in the licensing section, each with the date it was read. See how the numbers are built.