SmartPathGuides

Home › Get licensed

Time and cost to get licensed, by trade and state

Every row is a credential path read from the pages its record names, most of them the licensing authority's own. "Time" is the on-the-job training, at full-time hours, to the first license on the main path that takes 2,000 or more on-the-job hours (a separate, narrower license a state also offers, such as a residential-only one, is not counted; the state page names it); "starting cost" is what a worker pays to start working: the published state fees for the registrations, trainee or apprentice credentials, learner's permit and federal steps held before any experience. Where a state states its requirement in years rather than hours, the time reads "varies". The cost reads "none required" where the state licenses no one at the worker level (only contractors, or only cities and counties), "none listed" where it licenses workers but lists no credential before the first license, "not stated" where the pages read do not say whether a worker needs a license, "no state fee" where the only start step is federal (EPA 608), "not published" where a start step's fee is not published, and "varies" where the fee depends on the application date. A place named beside a figure marks a city's or county's fee, a local example, not the state's. The license-cost calculator also totals what it takes to hold the first license. Open the page for the sourced detail.

Two calculators read the same records: time to journeyman gives the years to each license at your own hours a week, and license cost itemises every published fee for one trade in one state.

StateTradeTime to first licenseStarting costState page
Alabama Electricians ~4 yrs1 not stated how →
Alabama HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Alabama Plumbers and pipefitters varies $35 how →
Alabama Truck drivers (CDL) varies $61.25 how →
Arizona Electricians varies none required how →
Arizona HVAC technicians varies no state fee how →
Arizona Plumbers and pipefitters varies none required how →
Arizona Truck drivers (CDL) varies $25 how →
California Electricians ~2.5 yrs none listed how →
California HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
California Plumbers and pipefitters varies not stated how →
California Truck drivers (CDL) varies not published how →
Colorado Electricians ~4 yrs not published how →
Colorado HVAC technicians varies no state fee how →
Colorado Plumbers and pipefitters 4 yrs2 not published how →
Colorado Truck drivers (CDL) varies $20 how →
Connecticut Electricians ~4 yrs not published how →
Connecticut HVAC technicians ~2 yrs not published how →
Connecticut Plumbers and pipefitters ~4 yrs not published how →
Connecticut Truck drivers (CDL) varies $41 how →
Florida Electricians varies none required how →
Florida HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Florida Plumbers and pipefitters varies none required how →
Florida Truck drivers (CDL) varies not published how →
Georgia Electricians varies not stated how →
Georgia HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Georgia Plumbers and pipefitters varies not stated how →
Georgia Truck drivers (CDL) varies $45 how →
Illinois Electricians varies not stated how →
Illinois HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Illinois Plumbers and pipefitters ~4 yrs3 $100 how →
Illinois Truck drivers (CDL) varies $50 how →
Indiana Electricians varies not stated how →
Indiana HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Indiana Plumbers and pipefitters ~4 yrs $10 how →
Indiana Truck drivers (CDL) varies $17 how →
Kentucky Electricians ~4 yrs none listed how →
Kentucky HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Kentucky Plumbers and pipefitters varies none listed how →
Kentucky Truck drivers (CDL) varies $64 how →
Louisiana Electricians varies $30 (New Orleans) how →
Louisiana HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Louisiana Plumbers and pipefitters varies $20 how →
Louisiana Truck drivers (CDL) varies not published how →
Maryland Electricians varies $12 how →
Maryland HVAC technicians ~4 yrs $12 how →
Maryland Plumbers and pipefitters ~4 yrs $18.50 how →
Maryland Truck drivers (CDL) varies $106 how →
Massachusetts Electricians ~4 yrs none listed how →
Massachusetts HVAC technicians ~3 yrs $40 how →
Massachusetts Plumbers and pipefitters ~4 yrs4 $14 how →
Massachusetts Truck drivers (CDL) varies $30 how →
Michigan Electricians ~4 yrs $15 how →
Michigan HVAC technicians ~3 yrs5 federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Michigan Plumbers and pipefitters ~3 yrs $15 how →
Michigan Truck drivers (CDL) varies not published how →
Minnesota Electricians varies $14 how →
Minnesota HVAC technicians varies no state fee how →
Minnesota Plumbers and pipefitters varies $14 how →
Minnesota Truck drivers (CDL) varies $26.75 how →
Missouri Electricians varies not stated how →
Missouri HVAC technicians varies no state fee how →
Missouri Plumbers and pipefitters varies none required how →
Missouri Truck drivers (CDL) varies $44 how →
New Jersey Electricians ~4 yrs $100 how →
New Jersey HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
New Jersey Plumbers and pipefitters varies $50 how →
New Jersey Truck drivers (CDL) varies $125 how →
New York Electricians varies not stated how →
New York HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
New York Plumbers and pipefitters varies not stated how →
New York Truck drivers (CDL) varies $10 how →
North Carolina Electricians varies not stated how →
North Carolina HVAC technicians ~2 yrs6 federal step only; state rule not stated how →
North Carolina Plumbers and pipefitters ~2 yrs7 not stated how →
North Carolina Truck drivers (CDL) varies not published how →
Ohio Electricians varies not stated how →
Ohio HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Ohio Plumbers and pipefitters varies not stated how →
Ohio Truck drivers (CDL) varies $31.50 how →
Oklahoma Electricians ~4 yrs $25 how →
Oklahoma HVAC technicians varies $25 how →
Oklahoma Plumbers and pipefitters varies $25 how →
Oklahoma Truck drivers (CDL) varies not published how →
Oregon Electricians ~4 yrs not published how →
Oregon HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Oregon Plumbers and pipefitters ~3.5 yrs not published how →
Oregon Truck drivers (CDL) varies $50 how →
Pennsylvania Electricians varies none required how →
Pennsylvania HVAC technicians varies no state fee how →
Pennsylvania Plumbers and pipefitters varies none required how →
Pennsylvania Truck drivers (CDL) varies varies how →
South Carolina Electricians varies not stated how →
South Carolina HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
South Carolina Plumbers and pipefitters varies not stated how →
South Carolina Truck drivers (CDL) varies $17.50 how →
Tennessee Electricians varies not stated how →
Tennessee HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Tennessee Plumbers and pipefitters varies not stated how →
Tennessee Truck drivers (CDL) varies $14 how →
Texas Electricians ~4 yrs $20 how →
Texas HVAC technicians varies $20 how →
Texas Plumbers and pipefitters ~2 yrs $15 how →
Texas Truck drivers (CDL) varies $25 how →
Utah Electricians ~4 yrs $116 how →
Utah HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Utah Plumbers and pipefitters ~4 yrs $116 how →
Utah Truck drivers (CDL) varies $52 how →
Virginia Electricians varies not stated how →
Virginia HVAC technicians varies federal step only; state rule not stated how →
Virginia Plumbers and pipefitters varies not stated how →
Virginia Truck drivers (CDL) varies $3 how →
Washington Electricians ~2 yrs $48.10 how →
Washington HVAC technicians ~1 yr $48.10 how →
Washington Plumbers and pipefitters ~3 yrs $60 how →
Washington Truck drivers (CDL) varies $75 how →
Wisconsin Electricians varies $30 how →
Wisconsin HVAC technicians varies $175 how →
Wisconsin Plumbers and pipefitters varies $30 how →
Wisconsin Truck drivers (CDL) varies $30 how →

120 sourced credential paths across 30 states and 4 trades. "Time" uses 2,080 hours = a full-time year. "Starting cost" is what the steps before any experience cost (registrations, trainee or apprentice credentials, learner's permits, federal steps), excluding exam-vendor fees; the trade-and-state page lists every tier. 1. Alabama, electricians: at least 4 years. Four years is the work-experience route; a completed non-DOL apprenticeship is entered as two years. 2. Colorado, plumbers and pipefitters: The pages read give this as 4 years (6,800 hours). 3. Illinois, plumbers and pipefitters: at least 4 years. That is the apprenticeship route; approved plumbing courses can replace part or all of it. 4. Massachusetts, plumbers and pipefitters: at least 4 years. The four-year floor is the education's: the 550 hours of theory must span at least four years. 5. Michigan, HVAC technicians: the hours are experience, not all of it on the job: a completed 2-year HVAC program can credit up to 1 year. 6. North Carolina, HVAC technicians: the hours are experience, not all of it on the job: up to half of which may be academic or technical training. 7. North Carolina, plumbers and pipefitters: the hours are experience, not all of it on the job: up to half from technical training.

As files: every license on every sourced path, with its source passage (CSV) · the records whole (JSON) · all files and how to credit them.

How to read this

A short path can lead to a license with a limited scope of work, such as a residential specialty; each page's requirement text says what the license covers. Use this to compare the paths, then open a page for the pay figures beside the full requirements. The CDL is earned by tests (federal entry-level training, a knowledge test and a skills test) rather than logged hours, so its time reads "varies". HVAC starts with the federal EPA 608 refrigerant certification; its time reads "varies" except where the state counts hours toward its own license. Where a state also sets a minimum number of years, the time uses whichever is longer. The steps are on each page.