SmartPathGuides

Home › Trades › HVAC technicians › Georgia

How to become an HVAC technician in Georgia

Georgia technicians who maintain, service, repair or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants need the federal EPA Section 608 certification, except for an apprentice closely and continually supervised by a certified technician; contracting requires a Georgia Conditioned Air Contractor license, either Class I (up to 175,000 BTU heating / 60,000 BTU cooling) or Class II (unrestricted). Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers in Georgia earned a median $56,390 a year in May 2025 ($27.11 an hour).

State license for workers
Not stated
the pages read do not say
On-the-job hours
None recorded
no hours figure is recorded for a license here; the table gives what each asks
Published fees, first steps
Federal step only; state rule not stated
no fixed published fee for EPA Section 608 Certification
Median pay
$56,390
$27.11 an hour, May 2025

HVAC technician licensing in Georgia

The licensing authority is Georgia State Construction Industry Licensing Board, Division of Conditioned Air Contractors. The pages each row was read from are listed under the table, with the date each was read.

LicenseWhat it takesExperienceExamFee
EPA Section 608 Certification (federal) Required nationwide for technicians who maintain, service, repair or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants, except apprentices closely and continually supervised by a certified technician: Type I (small appliances), Type II (high- and very-high-pressure, other than small appliances and motor-vehicle air conditioners), Type III (low-pressure) or Universal (all). Pass an EPA-approved test; the credential does not expire. — EPA-approved Section 608 test (Type I / II / III / Universal) not published
Conditioned Air Contractor, Class I (restricted) Restricted to systems up to 175,000 BTU heating and 60,000 BTU cooling. Four years' documented conditioned-air experience (two years as a lead mechanic on residential installations, one as a service technician and one in residential supervision), evidence of EPA certification, a Board-approved heat-loss/gain and duct-design course, and a passing exam (minimum 70). Three references are required, each from an architect, professional engineer, inspector or licensed conditioned air contractor. A technical-school diploma in engineering or engineering technology can count for up to two of the years, a vocational certificate for one. Application fee $30 plus a $10 processing fee. — Georgia Conditioned Air Class I exam (minimum 70) $40
Conditioned Air Contractor, Class II (unrestricted) No BTU limit. Five years' documented conditioned-air experience (two years as a lead mechanic, at least one of them commercial only, one as a service technician or service supervisor, and two in commercial supervision), including installations over 175,000 BTU (net) of heating and 60,000 BTU of cooling, evidence of EPA certification, a Board-approved heat-loss/gain and duct-design course, and a passing exam (minimum 70). Three references are required, each from an architect, professional engineer, inspector or licensed conditioned air contractor. A technical-school diploma in engineering or engineering technology can count for up to two of the years, a vocational certificate for one. Application fee $30 plus a $10 processing fee. — Georgia Conditioned Air Class II exam (minimum 70) $40

Reciprocity. Conditioned Air reciprocity agreements are under review by the Board.

Renewal. Biennial (licenses expire November 30 of odd-numbered years).

Licensing sources: EPA Section 608 Technician Certification (retrieved 2026-09-24) · GA Rules 121-3-.04 (Conditioned Air Contractor) (retrieved 2026-09-16) · Georgia State Construction Industry Licensing Board: fee schedule (retrieved 2026-09-23). Requirements change; confirm with Georgia State Construction Industry Licensing Board, Division of Conditioned Air Contractors before you act.

The steps in order, with exams, fees and renewal → · Every fee here, itemised and totalled → · Compare time and cost across trades and states →

Common questions

Do you need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Georgia?

Georgia technicians who maintain, service, repair or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants need the federal EPA Section 608 certification, except for an apprentice closely and continually supervised by a certified technician; contracting requires a Georgia Conditioned Air Contractor license, either Class I (up to 175,000 BTU heating / 60,000 BTU cooling) or Class II (unrestricted).

What does it cost to get licensed as an HVAC technician in Georgia?

Each of the 2 published fees in the table above is $40, one for each step that lists it. Read each tier's requirements for any exam or license-issue fee charged on top.

How long does it take to become an HVAC technician in Georgia?

It depends on which credential you need and the training and testing each step takes; the full path is in the table above.

How much do HVAC technicians make in Georgia?

Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers in Georgia earned a median $56,390 a year in May 2025, $27.11 an hour. That median is 8% below the national figure of $61,010, and Georgia ranks 43 of 51 by pay for this trade.

How much do apprentice HVAC technicians make in Georgia?

In fiscal 2023 (October 2022 to September 2023), among registered apprentices in Georgia under the occupation titles the U.S. Department of Labor maps to heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers, 92 apprentices started, at a median $16.45 an hour across the 89 whose starting wage DOL counts. Of those who completed that year, 18 have an exit wage DOL counts, fewer than the 50 a median needs. Wages are in that year's dollars.

What HVAC technicians earn in Georgia

Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers in Georgia earned a median $56,390 a year in May 2025, $27.11 an hour. 12,290 people held the job, 2.5 for every 1,000 jobs in the state. That median is 8% below the national figure of $61,010, and Georgia ranks 43 of 51 by pay for this trade.

Median annual
$56,390
$27.11 an hour
Rank by pay
#43
of 51 with a published median
Employed in GA
12,290
2.5 per 1,000 jobs
Location quotient
0.95
1.00 = national concentration

The full wage spread in Georgia

PointHourlyAnnualMeaning
10th percentile$17.78$36,990A tenth of the workforce earns less than this.
25th percentile$22.24$46,250A quarter earn less.
Median$27.11$56,390Half earn less, half earn more.
75th percentile$31.82$66,180A quarter earn more.
90th percentile$38.05$79,130A tenth earn more than this.
Mean$27.44$57,080The average. Pulled up by the top earners.

Annual figures are the hourly rate times 2,080 hours, BLS's full-time year. Overtime is inside the survey's earnings but not separated out.

Pay by metro area in Georgia

Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA employs the most HVAC technicians of the 14 metro areas based in Georgia that BLS publishes, 7,060, at a median $58,970 a year. The best-paid is Dalton, GA at $65,560.

MetroEmployedMedian annual10th pct90th pct
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA 7,060 $58,970 $38,310 $82,740
Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC 620 $48,900 $36,240 $72,850
Savannah, GA 450 $51,770 $36,940 $76,860
Columbus, GA-AL 330 $46,780 $33,680 $66,180
Gainesville, GA 330 $53,310 $37,540 $73,610
Athens-Clarke County, GA 240 $48,890 $35,790 $69,010
Warner Robins, GA 220 $48,670 $36,600 $74,650
Macon-Bibb County, GA 210 $48,980 $36,430 $69,090
Dalton, GA 150 $65,560 $36,960 $65,850
Albany, GA 140 $48,320 $35,340 $76,320
Brunswick-St. Simons, GA 140 $49,920 $32,600 $75,810
Valdosta, GA 100 $47,020 $34,510 $66,130
Rome, GA 80 $52,040 $35,120 $76,140
Hinesville, GA 60 $59,910 $31,350 $63,300

Metropolitan statistical areas as BLS publishes them in the same May 2025 estimates. A metro that crosses a state line is listed only under its primary state, so part of a neighboring state's metro can sit outside this table. Areas outside any metro are not shown. Listed under another state but reaching into Georgia: Chattanooga, TN-GA.

Georgia against its neighbors on the pay ladder

#StateMedian annualEmployed
40 North Carolina $57,260 15,230
41 Florida $56,670 39,160
42 South Carolina $56,610 6,920
43 Georgia $56,390 12,290
44 Idaho $56,240 4,550
45 Tennessee $55,490 9,740
46 Wyoming $54,700 690

The complete ranking is on the HVAC technicians page.

Against the national figure

FigureGeorgiaUnited States
Median annual$56,390$61,010
Median hourly$27.11$29.33
10th percentile, annual$36,990$40,050
90th percentile, annual$79,130$95,210
Employed12,290409,670

Apprenticeships in Georgia

U.S. Department of Labor records list 212 registered apprentices active in Georgia in fiscal year 2024 (October 2023 to September 2024) under the occupation titles DOL maps to heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers (SOC 49-9021). The file's fiscal 2024 records largely stop after February 2024. In fiscal 2023, the latest year the file holds in full, 92 apprentices started, at a median $16.45 an hour across the 89 whose starting wage DOL counts. Of those who completed that year, 18 have an exit wage DOL counts, fewer than the 50 a median needs.

Find a registered program: DOL's Apprenticeship Finder → · What those wages come to at your hours a week → · Every state's count and wages for this trade →

Wages are DOL's own hourly figures in the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. Which wages DOL counts, which titles count and how the state is assigned are on the data page.

Other trades in Georgia

Electricians ($58,320) · Plumbers and pipefitters ($57,200) · Welders ($48,430) · Truck drivers (CDL) ($57,050) · Lineworkers (power-line installers) ($80,080) · Elevator installers ($83,500) · Ironworkers ($48,090) · Sheet metal workers ($56,800) · Carpenters ($49,350) · Brickmasons and blockmasons ($50,650) · Auto service technicians ($49,060) · Diesel mechanics ($61,370) · Heavy equipment operators ($47,880) · Machinists ($52,610)

See all 15 ranked by pay in Georgia.

The pay and employment figures on this page are the May 2025 BLS estimates, apart from the apprenticeship figures, which are DOL's; the licensing detail is read from the pages listed in the licensing section, each with the date it was read. See how the numbers are built.