SmartPathGuides

Home › Trades › HVAC technicians › Ohio

How to become an HVAC technician in Ohio

Ohio technicians who maintain, service, repair or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants need the federal EPA Section 608 certification, except for an apprentice closely and continually supervised by a certified technician; HVAC contracting requires the state OCILB HVAC contractor license (five years in the trade or another route the statute allows, an exam and $500,000 insurance). Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers in Ohio earned a median $62,510 a year in May 2025 ($30.06 an hour).

State license for workers
Not stated
the pages read do not say
On-the-job hours
None recorded
no hours figure is recorded for a license here; the table gives what each asks
Published fees, first steps
Federal step only; state rule not stated
no fixed published fee for EPA Section 608 Certification
Median pay
$62,510
$30.06 an hour, May 2025

HVAC technician licensing in Ohio

The licensing authority is Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB), Ohio Department of Commerce. The pages each row was read from are listed under the table, with the date each was read.

LicenseWhat it takesExperienceExamFee
EPA Section 608 Certification (federal) Required nationwide for technicians who maintain, service, repair or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants, except apprentices closely and continually supervised by a certified technician: Type I (small appliances), Type II (high- and very-high-pressure, other than small appliances and motor-vehicle air conditioners), Type III (low-pressure) or Universal (all). Pass an EPA-approved test; the credential does not expire. — EPA-approved Section 608 test (Type I / II / III / Universal) not published
Ohio HVAC Contractor License (OCILB) At least 18; five years as a tradesperson in the HVAC trade immediately before applying, or registration as an Ohio engineer with three years of business experience in the trade's construction industry, or other experience the board's specialty section accepts; pass the OCILB exam (PSI, trade + business and law) after BCI and FBI background checks; carry at least $500,000 liability insurance. Application fee $25, and $25 for the license once both exam sections are passed. — OCILB HVAC contractor exam (PSI) $50

Renewal. Annual.

Licensing sources: EPA Section 608 Technician Certification (retrieved 2026-09-24) · Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (retrieved 2026-09-16) · Ohio Revised Code 4740.06 (retrieved 2026-09-24) · Ohio OCILB: examination application (retrieved 2026-09-24). Requirements change; confirm with Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB), Ohio Department of Commerce before you act.

The steps in order, with exams, fees and renewal → · Every fee here, itemised and totalled → · Compare time and cost across trades and states →

Common questions

Do you need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Ohio?

Ohio technicians who maintain, service, repair or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants need the federal EPA Section 608 certification, except for an apprentice closely and continually supervised by a certified technician; HVAC contracting requires the state OCILB HVAC contractor license (five years in the trade or another route the statute allows, an exam and $500,000 insurance).

What does it cost to get licensed as an HVAC technician in Ohio?

The published fee in the table above is $50. Read each tier's requirements for any exam or license-issue fee charged on top.

How long does it take to become an HVAC technician in Ohio?

It depends on which credential you need and the training and testing each step takes; the full path is in the table above.

How much do HVAC technicians make in Ohio?

Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers in Ohio earned a median $62,510 a year in May 2025, $30.06 an hour. That median is 2% above the national figure of $61,010, and Ohio ranks 19 of 51 by pay for this trade.

How much do apprentice HVAC technicians make in Ohio?

In fiscal 2023 (October 2022 to September 2023), among registered apprentices in Ohio under the occupation titles the U.S. Department of Labor maps to heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers, 183 apprentices started, at a median $18.00 an hour across the 165 whose starting wage DOL counts. Those who completed that year were paid a median $28.73 an hour at completion (52 completers with an exit wage DOL counts). Wages are in that year's dollars.

What HVAC technicians earn in Ohio

Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers in Ohio earned a median $62,510 a year in May 2025, $30.06 an hour. 14,150 people held the job, 2.5 for every 1,000 jobs in the state. That median is 2% above the national figure of $61,010, and Ohio ranks 19 of 51 by pay for this trade.

Median annual
$62,510
$30.06 an hour
Rank by pay
#19
of 51 with a published median
Employed in OH
14,150
2.5 per 1,000 jobs
Location quotient
0.97
1.00 = national concentration

The full wage spread in Ohio

PointHourlyAnnualMeaning
10th percentile$18.57$38,630A tenth of the workforce earns less than this.
25th percentile$23.27$48,410A quarter earn less.
Median$30.06$62,510Half earn less, half earn more.
75th percentile$37.59$78,190A quarter earn more.
90th percentile$47.26$98,310A tenth earn more than this.
Mean$31.73$66,000The average. Pulled up by the top earners.

Annual figures are the hourly rate times 2,080 hours, BLS's full-time year. Overtime is inside the survey's earnings but not separated out.

Pay by metro area in Ohio

Columbus, OH employs the most HVAC technicians of the 12 metro areas based in Ohio that BLS publishes, 3,000, at a median $64,440 a year.

MetroEmployedMedian annual10th pct90th pct
Columbus, OH 3,000 $64,440 $40,680 $100,590
Cincinnati, OH-KY-IN 2,950 $62,240 $39,750 $96,400
Cleveland, OH 2,610 $62,790 $39,220 $98,310
Dayton-Kettering-Beavercreek, OH 1,090 $62,500 $38,630 $96,620
Akron, OH 850 $61,090 $38,240 $96,690
Toledo, OH 650 $62,460 $38,610 $99,740
Canton-Massillon, OH 420 $58,910 $37,110 $91,920
Youngstown-Warren, OH 370 $61,260 $36,590 $95,570
Lima, OH 160 $60,950 $39,210 $77,530
Mansfield, OH 130 $59,010 $36,280 $92,850
Sandusky, OH 120 $61,040 $38,700 $94,400
Springfield, OH 80 $62,670 $34,940 $93,280

Metropolitan statistical areas as BLS publishes them in the same May 2025 estimates. A metro that crosses a state line is listed only under its primary state, so part of a neighboring state's metro can sit outside this table. Areas outside any metro are not shown. Listed under another state but reaching into Ohio: Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY-OH, Wheeling, WV-OH and Weirton-Steubenville, WV-OH.

Ohio against its neighbors on the pay ladder

#StateMedian annualEmployed
16 Colorado $65,200 8,940
17 Maine $63,170 2,250
18 Oregon $62,940 3,980
19 Ohio $62,510 14,150
20 Pennsylvania $62,400 15,880
21 Delaware $62,320 1,730
22 Vermont $62,150 970

The complete ranking is on the HVAC technicians page.

Against the national figure

FigureOhioUnited States
Median annual$62,510$61,010
Median hourly$30.06$29.33
10th percentile, annual$38,630$40,050
90th percentile, annual$98,310$95,210
Employed14,150409,670

Apprenticeships in Ohio

U.S. Department of Labor records list 414 registered apprentices active in Ohio in fiscal year 2024 (October 2023 to September 2024) under the occupation titles DOL maps to heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers (SOC 49-9021). The file's fiscal 2024 records largely stop after February 2024. In fiscal 2023, the latest year the file holds in full, 183 apprentices started, at a median $18.00 an hour across the 165 whose starting wage DOL counts. Those who completed that year were paid a median $28.73 an hour at completion (52 completers with an exit wage DOL counts).

Find a registered program: DOL's Apprenticeship Finder → · What those wages come to at your hours a week → · Every state's count and wages for this trade →

Wages are DOL's own hourly figures in the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. Which wages DOL counts, which titles count and how the state is assigned are on the data page.

Other trades in Ohio

Electricians ($64,700) · Plumbers and pipefitters ($63,330) · Welders ($50,340) · Truck drivers (CDL) ($59,800) · Lineworkers (power-line installers) ($93,150) · Elevator installers ($105,020) · Ironworkers ($74,710) · Sheet metal workers ($74,790) · Carpenters ($60,810) · Brickmasons and blockmasons ($70,950) · Auto service technicians ($48,710) · Diesel mechanics ($60,470) · Heavy equipment operators ($64,940) · Machinists ($57,940)

See all 15 ranked by pay in Ohio.

The pay and employment figures on this page are the May 2025 BLS estimates, apart from the apprenticeship figures, which are DOL's; the licensing detail is read from the pages listed in the licensing section, each with the date it was read. See how the numbers are built.