SmartPathGuides

Home › Trades › Electricians › Virginia

How to become an electrician in Virginia

Virginia licenses journeyman and master electricians as tradesmen through the Board for Contractors (DPOR); a license expires after three years and renews with three hours of code-update continuing education. Electricians in Virginia earned a median $62,900 a year in May 2025 ($30.24 an hour).

State license for workers
Not stated
the pages read do not say
On-the-job hours
No single figure
no license here is recorded with one on-the-job hours figure of 2,000 or more; the table gives what each asks
Published fees, first steps
Not stated
no step is listed before any experience, and the pages read do not say whether a worker needs a license
Median pay
$62,900
$30.24 an hour, May 2025

Electrician licensing in Virginia

The licensing authority is Virginia Board for Contractors, Tradesman Program (DPOR). The pages each row was read from are listed under the table, with the date each was read.

LicenseWhat it takesExperienceExamFee
Journeyman Electrician (tradesman) At least 18 and one of: four years of practical experience in the trade and 240 hours of formal vocational training (or five years and 160 hours, six years and 80 hours, seven or more years and 40 hours); an associate's degree or two-year certificate in a related field from an accredited community college or technical school plus two years of experience; a related engineering bachelor's degree plus one year; eight years of experience verified by people who saw the work; or a current journeyman or master license from outside Virginia. Pass the journeyman exam. A completed registered apprenticeship also qualifies, and some Virginia apprenticeship sponsors hold an exemption from the exam. The application fee on DPOR's July 2026 form is $171.75 (the regulation lists $150; the form adds a technology-fee note). The exam is separate: $100, paid to PSI. — Virginia journeyman electrical tradesman exam $171.75
Master Electrician (tradesman) One of: one year of practical experience as a licensed journeyman in the trade; nine years of practical experience verified by people who saw the work; or a current master license from outside Virginia. Pass the master exam. The application fee on DPOR's July 2026 form is $171.75 (the regulation lists $150; the form adds a technology-fee note). The exam is separate: $125, paid to PSI. — Virginia master electrical tradesman exam $171.75

Renewal. Every three years, with 3 hours of continuing education.

Licensing sources: DPOR Tradesman Exam & License Application (A501-2710EXLIC, 07/01/2026) (retrieved 2026-09-23) · 18VAC50-30-90 (fees) (retrieved 2026-09-23) · DPOR Tradesmen Program (exam fees paid to PSI) (retrieved 2026-09-23) · 18VAC50-30-120 (renewal and continuing education) (retrieved 2026-09-23). Requirements change; confirm with Virginia Board for Contractors, Tradesman Program (DPOR) before you act.

The steps in order, with exams, fees and renewal → · Every fee here, itemised and totalled → · Compare time and cost across trades and states →

Common questions

Do you need a license to work as an electrician in Virginia?

Virginia licenses journeyman and master electricians as tradesmen through the Board for Contractors (DPOR); a license expires after three years and renews with three hours of code-update continuing education.

What does it cost to get licensed as an electrician in Virginia?

Each of the 2 published fees in the table above is $171.75, one for each step that lists it. Read each tier's requirements for any exam or license-issue fee charged on top.

How long does it take to become an electrician in Virginia?

It depends on which credential you need and the training and testing each step takes; the full path is in the table above.

How much do electricians make in Virginia?

Electricians in Virginia earned a median $62,900 a year in May 2025, $30.24 an hour. That median is about the same as the national figure of $63,190, and Virginia ranks 31 of 51 by pay for this trade.

How much do apprentice electricians make in Virginia?

In fiscal 2023 (October 2022 to September 2023), among registered apprentices in Virginia under the occupation titles the U.S. Department of Labor maps to electricians, 1,433 apprentices started, at a median $17.00 an hour across the 1,422 whose starting wage DOL counts. Those who completed that year were paid a median $24.05 an hour at completion (490 completers with an exit wage DOL counts). Wages are in that year's dollars.

What electricians earn in Virginia

Electricians in Virginia earned a median $62,900 a year in May 2025, $30.24 an hour. 23,630 people held the job, 5.8 for every 1,000 jobs in the state. That median is about the same as the national figure of $63,190, and Virginia ranks 31 of 51 by pay for this trade.

Median annual
$62,900
$30.24 an hour
Rank by pay
#31
of 51 with a published median
Employed in VA
23,630
5.8 per 1,000 jobs
Location quotient
1.18
1.00 = national concentration

The full wage spread in Virginia

PointHourlyAnnualMeaning
10th percentile$19.61$40,780A tenth of the workforce earns less than this.
25th percentile$23.76$49,410A quarter earn less.
Median$30.24$62,900Half earn less, half earn more.
75th percentile$37.59$78,190A quarter earn more.
90th percentile$50.83$105,720A tenth earn more than this.
Mean$32.62$67,850The average. Pulled up by the top earners.

Annual figures are the hourly rate times 2,080 hours, BLS's full-time year. Overtime is inside the survey's earnings but not separated out.

Pay by metro area in Virginia

Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC employs the most electricians of the 9 metro areas based in Virginia that BLS publishes, 5,740, at a median $62,350 a year. The best-paid is Charlottesville, VA at $62,980.

MetroEmployedMedian annual10th pct90th pct
Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC 5,740 $62,350 $43,970 $81,280
Richmond, VA 3,600 $61,350 $39,070 $80,740
Roanoke, VA 610 $58,200 $38,590 $75,600
Charlottesville, VA 460 $62,980 $39,220 $77,640
Lynchburg, VA 380 $58,750 $35,830 $84,710
Harrisonburg, VA 370 $61,880 $37,460 $79,360
Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA 270 $62,490 $39,130 $80,090
Staunton-Stuarts Draft, VA 200 $62,150 $37,720 $78,700
Winchester, VA-WV 180 $58,960 $36,760 $81,670

Metropolitan statistical areas as BLS publishes them in the same May 2025 estimates. A metro that crosses a state line is listed only under its primary state, so part of a neighboring state's metro can sit outside this table. Areas outside any metro are not shown. Listed under another state but reaching into Virginia: Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV and Kingsport-Bristol, TN-VA.

Virginia against its neighbors on the pay ladder

#StateMedian annualEmployed
28 Delaware $63,700 2,260
29 Vermont $63,430 1,270
30 Idaho $63,000 5,690
31 Virginia $62,900 23,630
32 New Hampshire $62,840 3,330
33 Colorado $62,230 17,010
34 Utah $62,000 11,450

The complete ranking is on the Electricians page.

Against the national figure

FigureVirginiaUnited States
Median annual$62,900$63,190
Median hourly$30.24$30.38
10th percentile, annual$40,780$42,640
90th percentile, annual$105,720$108,510
Employed23,630757,220

Apprenticeships in Virginia

U.S. Department of Labor records list 3,646 registered apprentices active in Virginia in fiscal year 2024 (October 2023 to September 2024) under the occupation titles DOL maps to electricians (SOC 47-2111). The file's fiscal 2024 records largely stop after February 2024. In fiscal 2023, the latest year the file holds in full, 1,433 apprentices started, at a median $17.00 an hour across the 1,422 whose starting wage DOL counts. Those who completed that year were paid a median $24.05 an hour at completion (490 completers with an exit wage DOL counts).

Find a registered program: DOL's Apprenticeship Finder → · What those wages come to at your hours a week → · Every state's count and wages for this trade →

Wages are DOL's own hourly figures in the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. Which wages DOL counts, which titles count and how the state is assigned are on the data page.

Other trades in Virginia

Plumbers and pipefitters ($60,470) · HVAC technicians ($59,730) · Welders ($59,180) · Truck drivers (CDL) ($56,860) · Lineworkers (power-line installers) ($76,590) · Elevator installers ($108,250) · Ironworkers ($60,260) · Sheet metal workers ($52,220) · Carpenters ($55,690) · Brickmasons and blockmasons ($54,680) · Auto service technicians ($59,330) · Diesel mechanics ($61,090) · Heavy equipment operators ($57,160) · Machinists ($61,290)

See all 15 ranked by pay in Virginia.

The pay and employment figures on this page are the May 2025 BLS estimates, apart from the apprenticeship figures, which are DOL's; the licensing detail is read from the pages listed in the licensing section, each with the date it was read. See how the numbers are built.