SmartPathGuides

Home › Trades › Electricians › South Carolina

How to become an electrician in South Carolina

South Carolina's Residential Builders Commission licenses residential electricians: residential electrical work over $500 requires its license unless the worker is a residential builder licensed by examination or a mechanical contractor in its classification. The license takes a year of residential electrical experience within five years and passing both the Business Management and Law and the technical portions of PSI's exam (the technical portion is waived for some licensed applicants); for commercial work over $10,000 the Commission points to the Contractor's Licensing Board. The pages read do not say whether someone working under a licensee needs a license. Electricians in South Carolina earned a median $58,740 a year in May 2025 ($28.24 an hour).

State license for workers
Not stated
the pages read do not say
On-the-job hours
None recorded
no hours figure is recorded for a license here; the table gives what each asks
Published fees, first steps
Not stated
no step is listed before any experience, and the pages read do not say whether a worker needs a license
Median pay
$58,740
$28.24 an hour, May 2025

Electrician licensing in South Carolina

The licensing authority is South Carolina Residential Builders Commission (Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation). The pages each row was read from are listed under the table, with the date each was read.

LicenseWhat it takesExperienceExamFee
Licensed Residential Electrician (Residential Builders Commission) Required for residential electrical work over $500, except for a residential builder licensed by examination or a mechanical contractor working in the classification it holds. At least one year of residential electrical experience within the past five years, verified on the Commission's experience affidavit by each employer or supervisor, who must have been appropriately licensed during the supervision and know the work directly (an applicant qualifying for the exam waiver through a license may self-report the experience under that license); then the Commission's required examination, administered by PSI: both the Business Management and Law and the Residential Electrical technical portions (exam fees are paid directly to PSI; eligibility lasts one year, with three attempts within 12 months; if both portions are not passed in that time you reapply, and after a third failure you wait 12 months). The technical portion is waived for a South Carolina mechanical contractor licensed by examination for at least a year in the Electrical (EL) classification and for holders of a current Mississippi or North Carolina license obtained by examination and held one year or longer (not grandfathered), a NASCLA Accredited Electrical exam passed within the past three years, or a current Master Residential Electrician or Master Electrician certification issued by examination by the Municipal Association of South Carolina between December 1990 and December 2025 or by Carolinas AGC after January 1, 2026; the experience and the Business Management and Law portion still apply. The application includes a credit report dated no more than 30 days before it. Fees: $135 application and $220 license. Before doing or offering work over $5,000 on a project, a $10,000 surety bond in the individual's own name must be on file with the Commission. — PSI: Business Management and Law, and Residential Electrical $355

Renewal. Every other year, by June 30 of odd-numbered years ($220; $50 late fee).

Licensing sources: SC Residential Builders Commission: Residential Electrician license (retrieved 2026-09-24) · SC Residential Builders Commission: Residential Electrician license requirements and instructions (retrieved 2026-09-24) · SC Residential Builders Commission: Residential Electrician online application instructions (retrieved 2026-09-24) · South Carolina Code, Title 40, Chapter 59 (residential builders and specialty contractors) (retrieved 2026-09-24). Requirements change; confirm with South Carolina Residential Builders Commission (Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation) before you act.

The steps in order, with exams, fees and renewal → · Every fee here, itemised and totalled → · Compare time and cost across trades and states →

Common questions

Do you need a license to work as an electrician in South Carolina?

South Carolina's Residential Builders Commission licenses residential electricians: residential electrical work over $500 requires its license unless the worker is a residential builder licensed by examination or a mechanical contractor in its classification. The license takes a year of residential electrical experience within five years and passing both the Business Management and Law and the technical portions of PSI's exam (the technical portion is waived for some licensed applicants); for commercial work over $10,000 the Commission points to the Contractor's Licensing Board. The pages read do not say whether someone working under a licensee needs a license.

What does it cost to get licensed as an electrician in South Carolina?

The published fee in the table above is $355. Read each tier's requirements for any exam or license-issue fee charged on top.

How long does it take to become an electrician in South Carolina?

It depends on which credential you need and the training and testing each step takes; the full path is in the table above.

How much do electricians make in South Carolina?

Electricians in South Carolina earned a median $58,740 a year in May 2025, $28.24 an hour. That median is 7% below the national figure of $63,190, and South Carolina ranks 44 of 51 by pay for this trade.

How much do apprentice electricians make in South Carolina?

In fiscal 2023 (October 2022 to September 2023), among registered apprentices in South Carolina under the occupation titles the U.S. Department of Labor maps to electricians, 229 apprentices started, at a median $16.40 an hour across the 223 whose starting wage DOL counts. Those who completed that year were paid a median $23.86 an hour at completion (64 completers with an exit wage DOL counts). Wages are in that year's dollars.

What electricians earn in South Carolina

Electricians in South Carolina earned a median $58,740 a year in May 2025, $28.24 an hour. 8,010 people held the job, 3.5 for every 1,000 jobs in the state. That median is 7% below the national figure of $63,190, and South Carolina ranks 44 of 51 by pay for this trade.

Median annual
$58,740
$28.24 an hour
Rank by pay
#44
of 51 with a published median
Employed in SC
8,010
3.5 per 1,000 jobs
Location quotient
0.71
1.00 = national concentration

The full wage spread in South Carolina

PointHourlyAnnualMeaning
10th percentile$21.31$44,330A tenth of the workforce earns less than this.
25th percentile$23.03$47,910A quarter earn less.
Median$28.24$58,740Half earn less, half earn more.
75th percentile$31.82$66,190A quarter earn more.
90th percentile$37.41$77,800A tenth earn more than this.
Mean$28.38$59,030The average. Pulled up by the top earners.

Annual figures are the hourly rate times 2,080 hours, BLS's full-time year. Overtime is inside the survey's earnings but not separated out.

Pay by metro area in South Carolina

Greenville-Anderson-Greer, SC employs the most electricians of the 8 metro areas based in South Carolina that BLS publishes, 1,670, at a median $60,210 a year. The best-paid is Spartanburg, SC at $62,050.

MetroEmployedMedian annual10th pct90th pct
Greenville-Anderson-Greer, SC 1,670 $60,210 $45,910 $77,840
Charleston-North Charleston, SC 1,480 $59,010 $45,560 $75,660
Columbia, SC 1,170 $60,390 $45,330 $78,310
Spartanburg, SC 600 $62,050 $46,870 $78,280
Myrtle Beach-Conway-North Myrtle Beach, SC 360 $51,200 $43,110 $61,870
Florence, SC 240 $57,550 $43,190 $71,430
Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Port Royal, SC 220 $57,030 $45,090 $73,860
Sumter, SC 90 $56,200 $43,680 $69,610

Metropolitan statistical areas as BLS publishes them in the same May 2025 estimates. A metro that crosses a state line is listed only under its primary state, so part of a neighboring state's metro can sit outside this table. Areas outside any metro are not shown. Listed under another state but reaching into South Carolina: Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC and Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC.

South Carolina against its neighbors on the pay ladder

#StateMedian annualEmployed
40 Iowa $60,860 10,310
40 Mississippi $60,860 6,610
42 Nebraska $60,820 6,440
43 Kentucky $59,720 11,030
44 South Carolina $58,740 8,010
45 Texas $58,570 76,770
46 New Mexico $58,390 5,020
47 Georgia $58,320 21,650

The complete ranking is on the Electricians page.

Against the national figure

FigureSouth CarolinaUnited States
Median annual$58,740$63,190
Median hourly$28.24$30.38
10th percentile, annual$44,330$42,640
90th percentile, annual$77,800$108,510
Employed8,010757,220

Apprenticeships in South Carolina

U.S. Department of Labor records list 518 registered apprentices active in South Carolina in fiscal year 2024 (October 2023 to September 2024) under the occupation titles DOL maps to electricians (SOC 47-2111). The file's fiscal 2024 records largely stop after February 2024. In fiscal 2023, the latest year the file holds in full, 229 apprentices started, at a median $16.40 an hour across the 223 whose starting wage DOL counts. Those who completed that year were paid a median $23.86 an hour at completion (64 completers with an exit wage DOL counts).

Find a registered program: DOL's Apprenticeship Finder → · What those wages come to at your hours a week → · Every state's count and wages for this trade →

Wages are DOL's own hourly figures in the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. Which wages DOL counts, which titles count and how the state is assigned are on the data page.

Other trades in South Carolina

Plumbers and pipefitters ($53,940) · HVAC technicians ($56,610) · Welders ($49,980) · Truck drivers (CDL) ($51,130) · Lineworkers (power-line installers) ($76,870) · Elevator installers ($90,860) · Ironworkers ($50,750) · Sheet metal workers ($49,920) · Carpenters ($50,670) · Brickmasons and blockmasons ($49,010) · Auto service technicians ($48,100) · Diesel mechanics ($59,330) · Heavy equipment operators ($48,940) · Machinists ($57,970)

See all 15 ranked by pay in South Carolina.

The pay and employment figures on this page are the May 2025 BLS estimates, apart from the apprenticeship figures, which are DOL's; the licensing detail is read from the pages listed in the licensing section, each with the date it was read. See how the numbers are built.